Gorilla sculpt

IMG_7091.JPGThis is a sculpt I worked on last week. It’s from a photo of a silverback gorilla in Germany. He had such silly expression that I knew instantly I had to sculpt him.
I wanted it to be a caricature of him. I’ve been having a hard time lately with my caricature sculpts, for some reason I end up sculpting everything in proportion rather than concentrating on one part of the face. This sculpture was a “Big”
breakthrough , by scaling down his brows I was finally able to capture his silliness that I had seen in the photo. I  sculpted him chavant clay. I will mold and cast him  in the next couple of days.
Richard

Leave a Reply

