Carleton Caricature.

IMG_1441
Carleton.

Today I started a new sculpting project.  He is a Scottish character loosely based on a friend of mine who unfortunately passed away this year. I sculpted him in Wed Clay and will cast him in a bronze resin.

I find myself going back and forth between Wed Clay and Chavant clay. I love both of them for their different qualities. With wed clay I can block out very quickly. But, I’m having to constantly keep it covered to prevent it from drying out. Where as working with Chavant clay,  I feel  more relaxed and less “under the gun”. The chavant clay forces me to stop and think about my sculpting. It slows me down and makes me work much more deliberately.

Leave a Reply

